Minutes of Okehampton Town Council Annual General Meeting/Mayor Choosing held on Wednesday 14 May 2014 in the Council Chamber, Town Hall, Fore Street, Okehampton at 12 noon

Members Present: Councillor Reverend M Davies (Town Mayor)

Councillor Mrs J Goffey Councillor Dr M Ireland Councillor A Leech Councillor C Letchford Councillor Mrs M McDonald Councillor Mrs C Marsh Councillor B Stephens

Councillor P Vachon (Deputy Mayor)

Councillor D Weekes Councillor Mrs J Yelland

In Attendance: Mr P R Snell (Town Clerk)

Mace Bearers Invited Guests

Before proceeding with business, prayers were offered by the Mayor Elect's Chaplain, Father Darline Marianathan.

- **1. Apologies for Absence** were presented on behalf of Councillors Ball, Boyce and Cummings.
- 2. Okehampton Town Mayor Councillor Davies summarised his second year as Town Mayor and highlighted some of the many events he had attended representing the Council and put on record his thanks to fellow Councillors and to the Council staff for their support throughout the year, noting in particular thanks to Mrs J Gillard, as Acting Town Clerk, and to his wife Justine who had been a tremendous support throughout his period as Mayor. Councillor Davies then presented Mayor's Charity cheques, each of £826, to Get Changed Theatre Company, represented by one of their trustees, Carol Williamson, and to Tor Support Services, represented by their Chairman, Dr Kathryn Vile.

Presentation of Mayor's Awards were made to Danielle Moore-Dunstan who had been active on school visits and in many other matters both on and off-duty as a Police Community Support Officer. The second Mayoral Award was made to Okehampton Excelsior Silver Band for their support and help to many of the town's organisations and without whom the Civic and Remembrance Sunday Parades would not be the same. This Award was received by Mrs Margaret Allin on behalf of the Silver Band. Two further Town Mayor's Awards were made to recipients who were unable to be present. The first of these was Ross Campbell whose help in so many different ways over a long period of time was noted and also to Mr Horace Rutley whose active support in maintaining the Community Archive through videos and pictures was a noteworthy contribution.

3. Election of Town Mayor - Councillor P Vachon.

Proposed by Councillor B Stephens. Seconded by Councillor M Davies. All Councillors were in favour. Councillor Vachon then read out and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office as Town Mayor.

Councillor Vachon responded with a short speech in which he acknowledged the contribution made by Councillor Davies as retiring Mayor and took the opportunity to present Councillor Davies with his badge of retired office.

Councillor Vachon then identified his priorities for the coming year as engagement with the community and being the voice of the community. He also nominated three charities as being the Mayor's Charities for the coming year: Royal British Legion, Ocmundtune Creative Arts and Toilet Twinning (a charity providing safe, clean, hygienic sanitation in underdeveloped countries).

4. Election of Deputy Town Mayor - Councillor Mrs J Goffey.

Proposed by the Town Mayor, Councillor Vachon. Seconded by Councillor Mrs M McDonald. All Councillors were in favour. Councillor Mrs Goffey then read out and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office as Deputy Town Mayor. The Deputy Town Mayor responded with a short speech.

- **Mayor's and Deputy Mayor's Expenses** To endorse the payment of an allowance of £2,150 to the Town Mayor and Deputy Mayor to defray the expenses attached to this office in pursuance of Section 15 (5) of the Local Government Act 1972, proposed by Councillor Mrs McDonald, seconded by Councillor Letchford. All Councillors in favour.
- **6. Committees of the Council** To appoint Councillors to the following Committees for the ensuing year: Policy and Resources, Parks, Planning and Property in accordance with the schedule as circulated. Proposed by Councillor Davies, seconded by Councillor Leech. All Councillors in favour.

To appoint Chairmen and Vice Chairmen to the Committees as per the circulated schedule. Proposed en bloc by Councillor Davies, seconded by Councillor Leech. All Councillors in favour.

- 7. Council and Committee Schedule of Meetings 2014/15 To consider and adopt the schedule of meetings for the ensuing year as per the schedule previously circulated. Proposed by Councillor Ireland, seconded by Councillor Mrs Yelland. All Councillors in favour.
- **8. Representatives on Other Bodies** To appoint Councillors as representatives of this authority to Other Bodies as per the circulated schedule. Proposed by Councillor Leech, seconded by Councillor Mrs Yelland. All Councillors in favour.

The Town Mayor declared the meeting closed at 12.45 pm and welcomed all to a buffet lunch in the Charter Hall.

Councillor P Vachon	
Town Mayor	