Minutes of a Meeting of the Okehampton Town Council Policy and Resources Committee held on Monday 1st December 2014 at the rising of the Property Committee in the Council Chamber, Town Hall, Okehampton

Committee Members Present: Councillor Mrs M McDonald (Chairman)

Councillor C Letchford (Vice Chairman)

Councillor K Ball
Councillor T Cummings
Councillor Mrs C Marsh
Councillor B Stephens
Councillor Mrs J Yelland

Councillor P Vachon (Town Mayor)
Councillor A Leech (Chairman, Planning)
Councillor Mrs J Goffey (Chairman, Property)

Other Members Present: Councillor Dr M Ireland

Councillor B Tolley
Councillor D Weekes

In Attendance: P R Snell (Town Clerk)

Action

- **Apologies for Absence** Apologies for absence were presented on behalf of Councillor Revd M Davies.
- **<u>377. Deferment of Business</u>** No members of the public present.
- 378. Budget 2015/2016 - There was discussion on the provision and take-up of grants, noting the restrictions applied to grants made under the provision of Section 137 of the Local Government Act 1972. It was confirmed that the Civic Dinner was intended to be budget neutral for the future. The Committee expressed some concern that the precept had been reduced some years previously in view of the splitting out of the council tax support grant. However with this grant now being decreased year on year, it was important to ensure that the precept was at a level to sustain the total removal of council tax support grant (mitigation fund). The implication of possible transfer of assets during the year also needed to be taken into consideration when a clearer picture was available. It was agreed that funding for the Neighbourhood Plan should be drawn from reserves, noting the current provision under the Localism Act heading. It was agreed to take the resulting draft forward to the next stage on the proposal of Councillor Cummings, seconded Councillor Leech and The Clerk would present a draft budget for consideration and recommendation by the Policy and Resources Committee prior to Full Council on 12 January 2015.

Clerk

The meeting was closed at 8.35 pm.

Councillor Mrs M McDonald Chairman