

Town Hall Fore Street Okehampton Devon EX20 1AA

01837 53179 www.okehampton.gov.uk

Minutes of a meeting of Okehampton Town Council held on Wednesday 8th May 2024 at 6pm in the Charter Hall, Market Street, Okehampton

Members Present:

Cllr Fisher (Outgoing Mayor) Cllr Colman (Incoming Mayor)
Cllr Bird (Chairman, Property) Cllr Leech (Chairman, Planning)

Cllr Tolley (Chairman, Parks) Cllr Yelland (Chairman, Policy & Resources)

Cllr Cummings Cllr Hart
Cllr Ireland Cllr Marsh
Cllr McNeill Cllr Richards

Cllr Weekes

In Attendance:

Mrs E James (Town Clerk)
Mrs A Horn (Assistant Clerk)
Mrs T Bryant (Finance Officer)
Mr J McGahey (Park-Keeper)
Mr J Dean (Caretaker)
Mr D Ellis (Mace Bearer)
Rev Hall (Mayor's Chaplain)
Cllr P Vachon (WDBC)
Hospiscare Representatives

Mayor of Tavistock Mayor of Bideford

Chair of Okehampton Hamlets Incoming and Outgoing Mayor's Cadets (RAF)

Okehampton Youth Councillors (Lily, Ava, Niamh and Katherine)

Approximately 43 members of the public including Mayoral Award recipients and representatives of other groups and organisations.

The meeting was livestreamed through the Council Facebook page.

1. Election of Mayor

On the proposition of Cllr McNeill, seconded Cllr Hart, it was **RESOLVED** to elect Cllr Colman as Mayor. Cllr Colman read out and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office followed by an acceptance speech.

2. Election of Deputy Mayor

On the proposition of Cllr Colman, seconded Cllr Yelland, it was **RESOLVED** to elect Cllr Bird as Deputy Mayor. The Declaration of Acceptance of Office was read out and signed by Cllr Bird who then gave a short an acceptance speech.

3. Apologies for Absence

Apologies tendered by Cllr Holt (illness) were **approved** on the proposition of Cllr Richards, seconded Cllr Ireland.

4. <u>Declarations of Interest</u>

None

5. Mayors Expenses

On the proposition of Cllr Yelland, seconded Cllr Bird, it was **RESOLVED** to endorse a budget of £2,500 to defray the expenses attached to this office in pursuance of section 15 (5) of the Local Government Act 1972.

6. Committees of the Council –

On the proposition of Cllr Fisher, seconded Cllr Marsh, it was **RESOLVED** to appoint Councillors to the Property, Policy & Resources, Planning, Property and Personnel Sub-Committees in accordance with the previously circulated lists.

On the proposition of Cllr Marsh, seconded Cllr Bird, it was **RESOLVED** to appoint Cllr Yelland to be Chairman of the Policy & Resources Committee and Cllr Tolley to be Vice-Chairman.

On the proposition of Cllr Richards, seconded Cllr Yelland, it was **RESOLVED** to appoint Cllr Leech to be Chairman of the Planning Committee and Cllr Ireland to be Vice-Chairman.

On the proposition of Cllr McNeill, seconded Cllr Ireland, it was **RESOLVED** to appoint Cllr Tolley to be Chairman of the Parks Committee.

On the proposition of Cllr Fisher, seconded Cllr Richards, it was **RESOLVED** to appoint Cllr Bird to be Chairman of the Property Committee and Cllr Cummings to be Vice-Chairman.

7. Working Groups

On the proposition of Cllr Tolley, seconded Cllr Leech, it was **RESOLVED** to appoint Councillors to Working Groups and agree the reporting arrangements in accordance with the previously circulated list.

8. Representatives to External Bodies

On the proposition of Cllr Fisher, seconded Cllr Tolley, it was **RESOLVED** to appoint Councillors as representatives of the Council to other bodies and Trustees to Charities in accordance with the previously circulated list.

9. 202/26 Meeting Schedule

The schedule of meetings and events for the Mayoral Year as previously approved by the Council was noted.

Cllr Colman concluded with a short speech thanking those present for attending and presented the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Allenton Fisher, with the Past Mayors Badge. The meeting was closed at 6.30pm.

Councillor Colman	
Mayor	