Okehampton Town Council - Committees

Okehampton Town Council has a number of committees which are listed below with their membership. The Mayor and Chairs of the various committees are automatically members of all committees.

The Parks Committee has responsibility for the maintenance of Simmons Park, Kempley Meadows, Clapps Wood and other open spaces, the Town Council car parks, the skate park, the cemetery, some public rights of way, bus shelters and wayside seats. It also has responsibility for reviewing and implementing the Development Plan in respect of parks and open spaces.

The Planning Committee is responsible for reviewing and commenting where appropriate on all matters relating to planning, including individual applications and wider strategic planning matters. We are a statutory consultee in the planning process. 

The Policy and Resources Committee has responsibility for supervision and control of the Council's finances, including the allocation of occasional and regular grants to support organisations which benefit the residents of the town. It manages the personnel employed by the Council and oversees the use of IT.

The Property Committee has responsibility for the Civic buildings and property, including the Town Hall, Charter Hall and parts of the Market Hall, the public toilets at Fairplace and in Market Street as well as other smaller items of property owned by the Council.

The attendance of individual Members at scheduled meetings of committees of which they were members and at scheduled full council meetings held between 5 May 2021 and 21 March 2022 is shown as a percentage and can be seen below.

83%  Cllr Bob Tolley

98%  Cllr D Sanger

91% Cllr T Abbots

86%  Cllr Greta Button

100%  Cllr Jan Goffey

91%  Cllr Carole Holt

98& Cllr Dr M Ireland

80%  Cllr Paul Jessop

97%  Cllr Tony Leech

100%  Cllr Christine Marsh

95% Cllr B Matravers

68% Cllr D Travers

90% Cllr J Yelland

81% Cllr A Wood

Policy and Resources Committee

Cllr Julie Yelland (Committee Chair)
Cllr Caleb Botton
Cllr Allenton Fisher

Agenda and Minutes of Committee Meetings

Parks Committee

Cllr Christine Marsh (Committee Chair)
Cllr Carole Holt
Cllr Dr Michael Ireland
Cllr Antony Leech

Agenda and Minutes of Committee Meetings

Property Committee

Cllr Ann Wood (Committee Chair)
Cllr Jan Goffey (Committee Vice Chair)
Cllr Allenton Fisher
Cllr Carole Holt
Cllr Antony Leech

Agenda and Minutes of Committee Meetings

Planning Committee

Cllr Brendan Matravers (Committee Chair)
Cllr Caleb Botton
Cllr Jan Goffey
Cllr Dr Michael Ireland

Agenda and Minutes of Committee Meetings

Emergency Committee

Cllr Bob Tolley (Town Mayor)
Cllr Christine Marsh (Chair, Parks)
Cllr Brendan Matravers (Chair, Planning)
Cllr Julie Yelland (Chair, Policy and Resources)
Cllr Ann Wood (Chair, Property)

Agenda and Minutes of Committee Meetings