Okehampton Town Council
Okehampton Town Council Chamber The Town Hall in Okehampton The town centre of Okehampton Swiss style chalet, Simmons Park, Okehampton Simmons Park, Okehampton, walks along the East Okement River Adventure play ground, Simmons Park, Okehampton Children's play area, Parklands Leisure Centre and putting green in Simmons Park, Okehampton Band stand, Simmons Park, Okehampton The Skate Park, Okehampton Dartmoor Railway, Okehampton


Okehampton Town Council has a number of committees which are listed below with their membership. The Mayor and Chairs of the various committees are automatically members of all committees.

The Parks Committee has responsibility for the maintenance of Simmons Park, Kempley Meadows, Clapps Wood and other open spaces, the Town Council car parks, the skate park, the cemetery, some public rights of way, bus shelters and wayside seats. It also has responsibility for reviewing and implementing the Development Plan in respect of parks and open spaces.

The Planning Committee is responsible for reviewing and commenting where appropriate on all matters relating to planning, including individual applications and wider strategic planning matters. We are a statutory consultee in the planning process. It also ensures that the Council's Crime and Disorder Reduction Strategy is taken into account in comments in respect of planning applications.

The Policy and Resources Committee has responsibility for supervision and control of the Council's finances, including the allocation of occasional and regular grants to support organisations which benefit the residents of the town. It manages the personnel employed by the Council and oversees the use of IT.

The Property Committee has responsibility for the Civic buildings and property, including the Town Hall, Charter Hall and parts of the Market Hall as well as other smaller items of property owned by the Council.

The attendance of individual Members at scheduled meetings of committees of which they were members and at scheduled full council meetings held between 15 May 2017 and 5 February 2018 is shown as a percentage and can be seen below.

 Cllr Mrs Janet Carpenter  87%  Cllr Mrs Christine Marsh  69%
 Cllr Terry Cummings  33%  Cllr Mrs Sally Parkins  78%
 Cllr Mrs Val Cushing  100%  Cllr Bob Rush  77%
 Cllr Mrs Jan Goffey  98%  Cllr Bob Tolley  88%
 Cllr Miss Carole Holt  100%  Cllr Paul Vachon  96%
 Cllr Dr Michael Ireland  83%  Cllr David Weekes  67%
 Cllr Tony Leech  100%  Cllr Mrs Julie Yelland  84%

Policy and Resources Committee

Cllr Mrs Julie Yelland (Committee Chair)
Cllr Terry Cummings (Committee Vice Chair)
Cllr Mrs Val Cushing
Cllr Mrs Jan Goffey
Cllr Bob Tolley
Cllr Paul Vachon

Agenda and Minutes of Meetings

Parks Committee

Cllr Mrs Christine Marsh (Committee Chair)
Cllr Miss Carole Holt (Committee Vice Chair)
Cllr Dr Michael Ireland
Cllr Robert Rush
Cllr Bob Tolley

Agenda and Minutes of Meetings

Property Committee

Cllr David Weekes (Committee Chair)
Cllr Paul Vachon (Committee Vice Chair)
Cllr Mrs Jan Goffey
Cllr Miss Carole Holt

Agenda and Minutes of Meetings

Planning Committee

Cllr Antony Leech (Committee Chair)
Cllr Robert Rush (Committee Vice Chair)
Cllr Terry Cummings
Cllr Mrs Val Cushing
Cllr Dr Michael Ireland

Agenda and Minutes of Meetings

Emergency Committee

Cllr Mrs Janet Carpenter (Town Mayor)
Cllr Mrs Christine Marsh (Chair, Parks)
Cllr Antony Leech (Chair, Planning)
Cllr Mrs Julie Yelland (Chair, Policy and Resources)
Cllr David Weekes (Chair, Property)

Agenda and Minutes of Meetings

Tel: 01837 53179

Latest Council News

Town Council Meetings
The next meeting of the Town Council will be held on Monday 29th April 2019 at 7 pm in the Council Chamber

Town Council Office Open Hours
Monday - Thursday 9.30 am - 4 pm

Town Clerk
Mrs Emma James

 Fairtrade logo




Last updated 17th December 2018 Website developed by WesternWeb