Okehampton Town Council Okehampton Town Council Chamber

Mayoral / Civic Page

Commonwealth Day Affirmation read by the MayorCommonwealth Flag Flying on St James' ChapelTown Mayor, Cllr Janet Carpenter
Okehampton Town Council
Remembrance Sunday 2018Remembrance Sunday 2018Remembrance Sunday 2018
Okehampton Town Council
Remembrance Sunday 2018Remembrance Sunday 2018Okehampton Show 2018
Okehampton Town Council
Okehampton Show 2018Civic Service Parade 2018Civic Service Parade 2018
Okehampton Town Council
Civic Service Parade 2018Mace Bearer David HollinsheadMace Bearer Basil Jones
Okehampton Town Council

Point to a thumbnail to view a large picture


Commonwealth Day Affirmation read by the Mayor

Tel: 01837 53179

The role of the Town Mayor

The Mayor is expected to attend all Council and Committee meetings. The Town Mayor automatically become a trustee of Okehampton United Charities, Okehampton Educational Foundation, Simmons Homes, and The Charities of Holditch & Others. On appointment the Mayor becomes the President of Cancer Research (Okehampton Branch) and President of the Okehampton Friendly Circle. The Mayor is an honorary member of the Okehampton Rotary Club during his term of office.

For those wishing to have the attendance of the Mayor at any function then please contact the Town Hall.


Councillor Janet Carpenter, Mayor of Okehampton 2018/19
Councillor Carpenter has lived in Okehampton for nearly 40 years and has spent her working life here doing a variety of jobs.  She has worked in 2 supermarkets in the town and now spends 3 half days each week working in Red Lion Bazaar.
From 1997 until 2007 Cllr Carpenter worked as a guard/driver for Dartmoor Railway and also had the role of station master.
On several occasions, Cllr Carpenter worked at Okehampton Camp during the Ten Tors event helping with breakfast preparation in the kitchens - pan bashing as it was called then - Janet had a lot of fun, even though it was hard work at the time.
Alongside her working life, Cllr Carpenter has done a lot of work for Cancer Research, a charity close to her heart as she lost a dear brother to cancer and also suffered herself, but is now in remission.  Janet has also taken part in some extreme activities to raise money for charity - a static parachute jump from 3,500 feet, a free fall parachute jump from 15,000 feet, a zip wire from the Citadel in Plymouth and a hot air balloon ride and numerous walks.
Cllr Carpenter's chosen charity for her Mayoral year is Cancer Research and her Mayoress is Councillor Christine Marsh.

Last updated 17th December 2018 Website developed by WesternWeb